Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I may have bit off a little more than I can chew...
Hey guys,

This is my first time posting in this section so bare with me...

A fellow Fire Fighter and I were out and about in East Texas visiting departments and photographing some apparatus. We got in contact with the Fire Chief of the Gallatin Texas Volunteer Fire Department that stated he had an old Mack pumper on his property and we were welcome to come visit and take a look. Of course we accepted. Upon arrival we got to talking about the old Mack and the Fire Chief stated that a deal was made with a collector in the Houston area for the truck, but he as never followed through with the deal and never picked truck, so its sat for a few years. My friend and I expressed an interest in the truck and then shortly after that the Fire Chief said that if we were willing to remove it from his property we could purchase the truck for 1 dollar. YES 1 dollar!!!. So now, I'm currently the owner of an old Mack Pumper with an unknown amount of problems. But it was so cheap that it was hard to pass up. The idea would be to work on it through out the years and eventually bring it back to its former glory. 

We were told that the old Mack CF was originally operated by the FDNY, and then was purchased by a department in Pennsylvania, and then purchased by Gallatin Texas VFD. I'm not sure how true the FDNY part is, but it would be rather cool if it was. I tried to find a list or something online that tells about the Mack CF's in use with the FDNY but I was unable to. I was hoping that someone on here could shine some light on this trucks past. I'd really like to find an old picture of this trucks former life. So if anyone could help me with my search that would be fantastic! 

Also, if anyone has any tips or tricks or suggestions with this truck as well, please let me know!

Thanks for looking. 

Vehicle # - CF611F-1465

[Image: IMG_2490-X2.jpg]

[Image: IMG_2488-X2.jpg]